AFL Fantasy End of Season Awards and Hall of Fame Preview

Updated: August 5, 2017

It is now that time of the year in our AFL Fantasy season where 50% of coaches are neck deep in Finals action, whilst the other 50% are getting their costume ready for Mad Monday, or maybe even starting to plan for the 2018 season. It is also the time of the year when we start to reflect on the season that was, and which players have performed admirably for us in 2017.

During the AFL bye week when the rest of the AFL is having a well earned rest, the OTLS team will be still working to bring you content. We will be recording a podcast where we will be handing out a number of awards. As first mentioned in one of our pre-season Round Table podcasts, we will also be inducting 5 players or events into the AFL Fantasy Hall of fame, as well as 1 player being inducted to the OTLS AFL Fantasy Pantheon – an honor reserved for the elite players.

Here is a list of the awards that will be on offer, and the criteria that we will use to award them. Please subscribe to the Podcast through your favorite Pod-catcher to ensure you don’t miss an episode.

MVP of the Competition – The Dane Swan Medal

The ‘Swanny’ will be awarded to the best AFL Fantasy player across all lines for the 2017 season. Named after arguably the greatest Fantasy stud in history, the Swan Medal is the AFL Fantasy equivalent of the Brownlow. The OTLS writers have been hard at work reviewing each and every game of the 2017 season, and awarding votes on a 3, 2, 1 basis. Tune in to see who will be the inaugural winner.

AFL Fantasy All Australian Team

If you are an AFL player and don’t manage to win the ‘Swanny’, don’t despair. We are also using the votes gathered throughout the season to announce an All Australian Fantasy team. We will be using the 6+2, 8+3, 2+1 and 6+2 format.  Will your favorite Fantasy gun make the cut? Tune in to find out.

All AFL Fantasy Teams

The next few awards will be voted on by the AFL Fantasy media. As well as the OTLS writers, we will conduct an extensive survey of other well know AFL Fantasy personalities. Podcasters, writers and twitter personalities will be invited to cast their votes do determine the winners.


All Defensive Team

We will be voting on players to be named to the All-Defensive 1st and 2nd teams. There will be a few players who are absolute locks, and no doubt there will also be some surprises. There will be 6 players named to both the 1st and 2nd teams.

All Midfield Team

Everyone knows that your midfield can make or break your team. Who will be named to the All Midfield 1st and 2nd teams? Subscribe to the Podcast to ensure you find out. 8 players will be named to the 1st and 2nd teams.

All Ruck Team

With such turmoil in the rucks this year, this award is wide open. 2 players will be voted into the 1st and 2nd All-Ruck team.

All Forward Team

The forward line has been the most frustrating line this year, with no real stand outs. Who will make the All-Forward 1st and 2nd teams? 6 players will be voted into each team.

Rookie of the Year

Selecting the right rookies is essential to a successful AFL Fantasy season. Who has been the best? Will it be the consistent Sam Powell-Pepper, or maybe a rookie like Nic Newman or Alex Witherden who came in right when we needed them midyear, and have performed admirably ever since?

Most Improved Player

Every year we see players who take their AFL  Fantasy game to the next level. Who has been the Most Improved this year? Will we all end up on “Sheed Island”, or maybe Clayton Oliver will receive the most votes? Tune in to hear the announcement.


Fun Awards

We will also be having a bit of fun during the podcast. Awarding our ‘Biggest Headache’ award, and our ‘Lock for 2018’ award, as well as a couple of others. If you have an award suggestion, let me know and we may just include it in the podcast.


Hall of Fame

There will be two categories to the Hall of Fame induction. The first is open to any Fantasy player/event/personality that has made a significant contribution to the AFL Fantasy game or community. There will be 5 inaugrural inductees, and they will be chosen from the following:

  • Dane Swan
  • Luke Hodge
  • Corey Enright
  • Jimmy Bartel
  • Brent Harvey
  • Nick Riewoldt
  • Sam Mitchell
  • Matt Priddis
  • Michael Barlow’s Rookie Season
  • Nick Riewoldt’s 200 points in AFL Fantasy Finals Round 23, 2016
  • The Traders/DT Talk boys
  • Lance Franklin 204 in Round 10, 2012 – Highest score since game started
  • Leigh Montagna’s 189 in AFL Fantasy Finals, Round 23, 2013

If you think we have missed one out, please hit me up on twitter and let me know.


Hall of Fame Pantheon

The Pantheon is reserved for the best of the best – the Fantasy Gods. Only one player will be inducted each year, so it is an elite club to be in. The player must be retired (or have announced their retirement). This year’s nominations are:

  • Dane Swan
  • Luke Hodge
  • Sam Mitchell
  • Nick Riewoldt
  • Corey Enright
  • Jimmy Bartel
  • Brent Harvey

Written by Archie Keeler (@OTLSArchie)

Click here to download all the latest OTLS Podcasts from iTunes.

Send us a Mailbag question to

Like our OTLS Facebook Page!
Follow us @OverTheLineAUS on Twitter!
Join our OTLS Facebook Group!

Don’t forget to join the OTLS AFL Facebook Group for all the latest breaking news, Fantasy/Supercoach advice and general discussion from all 18 teams competing in the 2017 AFL Premiership!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *